There are two different ways to edit the permissions of a user within airfocus. Both are dependent on your current role and the permissions you have within airfocus.

  1. Edit permissions from the workspace settings. (You'll need full access to a workspace as Editor or Admin)

  2. Edit permissions from the global workspace settings. (You'll need Admin access)

1. Edit permissions from the workspace menu

To edit permissions from the workspace menu you need to be an Admin or Editor with full access to the specific workspace.

You can enter the workspace permissions within every view of your workspace by clicking on the three dots next to the workspace name, opening the "Settings" and then selecting "Permissions".

Within the new modal, you will find an overview of all the different users who have access to the workspace already and their permissions. You can edit them from here or simply invite other users and set up their permissions.

2. Edit permissions from the global workspace settings

Sometimes an admin or editor who has created a workspace and owns its permission management may leave the company and you lose access to her/his login.

In that case, airfocus provides admins a solution to distribute permissions from the global workspace settings. Learn here how it is done.

Open the "Team settings" from your profile options on the bottom left corner. Then, click on the "Workspaces" tab. You will immediately see an overview of all the workspaces within your airfocus account.

Navigate to "workspaces" and select the workspace that you would like to change the permissions for.

Now you add, edit, and remove users and permissions for that specific workspace.

Workspace Group Permissions

Workspace groups have permissions for individual team members as well as team permissions which apply to anyone on the team by default.

  • A user’s final permission level to an individual workspace will always be the highest level found among the four permission settings:

    • Workspace individual permissions

    • Workspace team permissions

    • Workspace group individual permissions (if present)

    • Workspace group team permissions (if present)

  • Group level permissions do not overwrite individual permissions to workspaces but potentially supersede them.

  • If a user has "Full" permissions to several groups, they can re-organize them in the side navigation.

  • Users with “Full“ permissions to the group can re-order workspaces inside a group.

  • Users cannot reorder the general workspace section.

  • To move a workspace into a group, the user needs "Full" permissions to the group and "Full" permissions to the workspace.

  • To move a workspace between two groups, the user needs "Full" permissions on both groups.

  • When a user moves a workspace out of a group and/or deletes the group:

    • The user receives the "Full" permissions to the now independent workspace(s).

    • All other members of the workspace(s) keep their individual permissions.

    • Group members do not get automatically assigned their group permissions as individual workspace permissions. They will lose their group-bound access to the workspace(s).


Related topics


Have questions? Please get in touch via chat. We reply usually within minutes.

The first modular product management platform: Discover, learn, plan and deliver - your way.

Not yet an airfocus user? Start your free trial today and join thousands of teams who use our flexible (product management) platform to build products that matter.

Start your free trial today

Did this answer your question?