If you are an account admin in airfocus, a good understanding of the different roles and permissions that account users can have will help you to control access to airfocus features and actions.

Roles

There are three possible roles a user can have in airfocus:
1.  Admin
2. Editor
3. Contributor

User roles are not workspace specific. Each role has a maximum set of permissions and needs to be selected while creating a new user. 

Admin: 

Admins have superpowers within airfocus. They can manage team settings (users, workspaces, billing) and everything an editor can do.

Editor: 

Editors are the default user type with all normal editing rights. They can manage workspaces and edit items.

Contributor: 

Contributors can read selected workspaces and comment on items.

Roles at a glance

Here's a table showing what admins, editors and contributors can do when they have full access to a workspace.

Permissions

Working together with these roles are our user permissions.

User permissions determine how admins, editors, and contributors can access airfocus features and actions across the application. .

There are five levels of permissions:

  1. Full 

  2. Write

  3. Comment

  4. Read Only

  5. No access

They need to be set up per workspace and are limited by the user's role already.
For example, a contributor will never have full access to any workspace.
These permissions can by default only be edited by the creator of a workspace or every admin.

By default, every new user is created without any permissions or access to any workspace and the permissions need to be granted after the new user was created (Learn more). 


Permissions at a glance

Here's a table displaying the exact definition of the different permissions.

Permissions within master workspaces

Within master workspaces, the permission management is depending on the sources of the master workspace itself. By default, when invited to a master workspace you will gain read-only permission. If you should be able to edit the items of the master workspace you require write access to the source workspaces as well.

For example, you've created one master workspace from two source workspaces, workspace A and workspace B and you've got write access to workspace A only.

In that case, you will still be able to see all the items of both workspaces within the master workspace, but you will only be able to edit the items from workspace A.

Workspace Group Permissions

Workspace groups have permissions for individual team members as well as team permissions which apply to anyone on the team by default.

  • A user’s final permission level to an individual workspace will always be the highest level found among the four permission settings:

    • Workspace individual permissions

    • Workspace team permissions

    • Workspace group individual permissions (if present)

    • Workspace group team permissions (if present)

  • Group-level permissions do not overwrite individual permissions to workspaces but potentially supersede them.

  • If a user has "Full" permissions to several groups, they can re-organize them in the side navigation.

  • Users with “Full“ permissions to the group can re-order workspaces inside a group.

  • Users cannot reorder the general workspace section.

  • To move a workspace into a group, the user needs "Full" permissions to the group and "Full" permissions to the workspace.

  • To move a workspace between two groups, the user needs "Full" permissions on both groups.

  • When a user moves a workspace out of a group and/or deletes the group:

    • The user receives the "Full" permissions to the now independent workspace(s).

    • All other members of the workspace(s) keep their individual permissions.

    • Group members do not get automatically assigned their group permissions as individual workspace permissions. They will lose their group-bound access to the workspace(s).


Related questions

Not yet an airfocus user? Try airfocus for free. Use our powerful yet easy-to-use airfocus scoring system to prioritize & create more effective roadmaps. 🚀

Did this answer your question?