In airfocus there are five levels of permissions:

  1. Full

  2. Write

  3. Comment

  4. Read Only

  5. No access

The permissions determine how your airfocus team members can access airfocus' features and actions across the application.

They need to be set up per workspace and are limited by the user's role already.
For example, a contributor will never have full access to any workspace.


These permissions can by default only be edited by the creator of a workspace or every admin in the Team settings.

To open these permissions, click on the workspace's settings and then on the "Permissions" tab.

Here, you will be able to see each user's permission level and will be able to change these by clicking on the drop-down menu next to each user.

By default, every new user is created without any permissions or access to any workspace and the permissions need to be granted after the new user was created (Learn more).

Permissions at a glance

Here's a table displaying the exact definition of the different permissions.

Permissions within mirrored workspaces

With our Item Mirror app, it's possible to combine the items from different workspaces in one portfolio-wide overview.

You can learn more about how to use the Item Mirror app here.

You need full admin permissions to install the Item Mirror app in a workspace.

Apart from that, it's also important what kind of permissions you have for the workspaces that you want to use as a source for your combined view.

You also need "Full" permissions for all other workspaces that you want to combine.

Workspace Group Permissions

Workspace groups have permissions for individual team members as well as team permissions which apply to anyone on the team by default. To open these settings, click next to the group you want to edit to access its settings.

  • A user’s final permission level to an individual workspace will always be the highest level found among the four permission settings:

    • Workspace individual permissions

    • Workspace team permissions

    • Workspace group individual permissions (if present)

    • Workspace group team permissions (if present)

  • Group-level permissions do not overwrite individual permissions to workspaces but potentially supersede them.

  • If a user has "Full" permissions to several groups, they can re-organize them in the side navigation.

  • Users with “Full“ permissions to the group can re-order workspaces inside a group.

  • Users cannot reorder the general workspace section.

  • To move a workspace into a group, the user needs "Full" permissions to the group and "Full" permissions to the workspace.

  • To move a workspace between two groups, the user needs "Full" permissions on both groups.

  • When a user moves a workspace out of a group and/or deletes the group:

    • The user receives the "Full" permissions to the now independent workspace(s).

    • All other members of the workspace(s) keep their individual permissions.

    • Group members do not get automatically assigned their group permissions as individual workspace permissions. They will lose their group-bound access to the workspace(s).


Related questions


Have questions? Please get in touch via chat. We reply usually within minutes.

The first modular product management platform: Discover, learn, plan and deliver - your way.

Not yet an airfocus user? Start your free trial today and join thousands of teams who use our flexible (product management) platform to build products that matter.

Start your free trial today

Did this answer your question?